The Three Stages of SIS and LMS Adoption in K–12 Schools

By Hans Mundahl, Senior Director of Professional Development at the Enrollment Management Association

After selecting and implementing new Student Information and Learning Management Systems, most schools experience three stages of adoption among teachers, staff, students, and families:

  1. Organization Stage
  2. Replacement Stage
  3. Innovation Stage

By categorizing your school’s progress into stages, you’re not implying that all stakeholders should use the software uniformly. You’re recognizing that widespread adoption is a process.

Download this whitepaper to explore the typical conversations, uses, and challenges that characterize each stage of SIS and LMS adoption.


default image for landing page

Related Resources


K–12 School Software Buyer’s Guide


Developing an SIS/LMS Transition Plan for Your K–12 School


Top Tips for a Successful SIS/LMS Implementation in K-12 Schools